Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Fake Focal Speakers On Ebay
Mobile Electronics Australia > Mobile Electronics Discussion > News, Press Releases & Industry Discussion
eggism
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/New-FOCAL-K2-Power-...1QQcmdZViewItem

Does this price seem too good to be true? It is; these are copies of 165KP made in China.

They all have the same serial number 15B002196, have different braids, and black painted connection labelling on the crossover terminal block.
Focal Australia are having a comparison between the copy 165KP and the real 165KP done by some magazine reviewers.

The original email was forwarded to me from Focal Australia
MISTA_BISHI
ebay evil strikes again
nuttered
hmmm... $289 blink.gif


dodgy bastards! looks like people have been buying them. Will we ever get to see the results of the comparisons?
~Sparkles~
Actually Greg Osborn uses/d fake focal drivers in some of his subs because he belived that they were so close to being as good it wasnt worth paying 4x the amount for the real deal
nuttered
Pardon the ignorance, but who is Greg Osbourne?
~Sparkles~
osborn speakers. - some damn nice speakers too.
SILVR6
Yeah eBay has heaps of wicked cheap stuff, sus this 1000db JL sub

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi..._PcY_BIN_Stores
blocka
I have Focal speakers from Ebay and they came in the box sealed, with a focal warranty card and sticker and look damn near genuine to me! And even if there not they sound just as good as the real stuff!
nuttered
QUOTE (blocka @ Sep 12 2005, 09:42 AM)
I have Focal speakers from Ebay and they came in the box sealed, with a focal warranty card and sticker and look damn near genuine to me!  And even if there not they sound just as good as the real stuff!
*

did you buy from the seller mentioned?
Marlin
QUOTE (blocka @ Sep 11 2005, 11:42 PM)
I have Focal speakers from Ebay and they came in the box sealed, with a focal warranty card and sticker and look damn near genuine to me!  And even if there not they sound just as good as the real stuff!
*


And you would know how?
XtothaZ
This is just an email being sent by Focal to deter ebay buying, and pushing us to support the local industry. If you have purchased these speakers they come with the factory card with the serial number matching that of the speakers themselves. You can also register the product by contacting focal (apparently)
eggism
QUOTE (XtothaZ @ Sep 12 2005, 05:43 AM)
This is just an email being sent by Focal to deter ebay buying, and pushing us to support the local industry. If you have purchased these speakers they come with the factory card with the serial number matching that of the speakers themselves. You can also register the product by contacting focal (apparently)
*


The info i posted was from the importer of Focal who is currently testing the copys. When i get the results im sure i'll get some pict's to.
roughcactus
QUOTE (XtothaZ @ Sep 12 2005, 05:43 AM)
This is just an email being sent by Focal to deter ebay buying, and pushing us to support the local industry. If you have purchased these speakers they come with the factory card with the serial number matching that of the speakers themselves. You can also register the product by contacting focal (apparently)
*



ah yes...another internet conspiracy... rolleyes.gif

time to put up or shut up...I take it you have proof to back up your statement
XtothaZ
Well the set i have here have the warranty card etc look pretty damn original to me...

just have to wait untill we get some proof that they are copies...
nuttered
QUOTE (eggism @ Sep 9 2005, 12:24 PM)
They all have the same serial number 15B002196...
*


XtothaZ, what does your S/N say?
XtothaZ
its not the same as that one
vteca
I actually bought some JL XR speakers off this seller, and they look egitimate to me.

The attention to detail that these speakers have is quite impressive, and if they are fakes then im sure any audio enthusiast would have an extremely hard time figuring it out.

Normally fake stuff has some tell tale signs that what your getting is fake, but these seem to be the real deal.
Nav2k
anymore news on this topic.
i wanna know how they fake these speakers so well... (detail wise i mean...)
jl, mb's wot else?
vteca
I don't think what this seller is selling is fake, I think there legitimate
Bodyjar
A few sets have been purchased and fitted at one of our stores. Apparently (i havent heard them) they are terrible, and sound quite bad. Some have blown tweeters already...
Mirageboy
Has anyone heard anything more about this??
blocka
QUOTE (Marlin @ Sep 12 2005, 12:34 PM)
And you would know how?
*



Why do you think I wouldnt??? mad.gif


I have used real focals in some of my other setups, and i have also had people from car audio shops tell me how nice my system sounds with my focal speakers (the ones i got of ebay)

Oh and if you think I dont know crap cause I dont have many posts then up yours, I have been on and of this forum for about 3-4years just was under a different name! I don't claim to be a pro at Car Audio but I am not some random who doesnt know anything either!
bosc0
You can tell if they are fake from this link here http://www.focal.tm.fr/counterfeit.htm , my 165 V2's have that same serial code.
gros16
i bought od ebay some rockford fosagte twerts reatil $599 he were it says item location AUS but then send email thanx for payment please allow up to 14dasy delivery form hong kong i will test them don'y expect anything greta just abit extra treble
creid
they were all fakes from that seller if you check the focal website it says the seller was fined for selling fakes
MADTRAV
nah, they're real. Just like my Gucci sunnies from bali, and my Okaley (yes i spelt it right) Sunnies, they were only 4 bucks each
Audio Express
same as the DLS ones with the crappy logo copy on the back.


trav,

I thought my suunies were a bit too cheap , now you tell me they are fake smile.gif
Blackrazor
Focal have an 'absolutely no internet sales' policy. Period. If you are caught selling any new Focal product over the internet, they take back all consignment stock, you loose your dealer rights, and the local importer gets put through the mill. I know because i know someone who worked at a company this happened to, and it was just 1 innocent auction to an out of town buyer.

You cannot buy new Focal equipment over the internet. You even have to sign a no internet sales contract to even get the dealership (although it does allow you to make private sales via phone or email etc, but auction sites are specifically excluded).

Ergo, if you see new 'Focal' gear being auctioned off, then they are fakes, period. No real Focal dealer would risk the very real threat of having the product range removed from them faster than they could blink, by selling via online auction.
Fudd
QUOTE (Blackrazor @ Jan 30 2006, 10:38 AM) *
if you see new 'Focal' gear being auctioned off, then they are fakes, period. No real Focal dealer would risk the very real threat of having the product range removed from them faster than they could blink, by selling via online auction.


that i belive is what happened to a very large RF dealer in the states, they were caught onselling the products to a ebay store and next thing they know there not a RF dealer anymore haha
FREEDAN
The people selling the fake Focal speakers are no longer trading and have been shut down aswell as prosecuted. I have heard reports from the Focal distributor that they are falling apart left right and centre because people are trying to get warranty on them. Sorry but you have to buy genuine product from a shop front to do that. Just a warning to everyone: Buying off an internet site gives you no protection, no service and there products are not always genuine (Rockford $10 tweeters ring a bell?). You have the opposite with a genuine car audio retailer that are happy to wait hand over foot for you to make sure you get what you want. I want to throttle the person who sold me a strut brace that didn't fit my car and didn't want to give my money back. He is lucky he lives in Hong Kong.
Jezzza
there was a really good thread about all this in SQ section.. but i cant find it anymore. someone got the direct link? it compares the fakes to the real, but i must admit.. id get fooled :\
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.
 Runescape